Posted by: pastordarren | November 10, 2016

Moving Forward Together

Eight years ago, as the country was preparing to elect Barock Obama, I had a lady in the church I served, who was adamantly against his election. In the days following his election, she came to the church and shared with me the following words, “I didn’t vote for him, but he is now my president. I will do what I can to support and respect him.”

I have never forgotten those words and they came back to me during this election.  Donald Trump has won the election and there are those who are angry, there are those who are glad.  I don’t agree  with much of President Elect Trump’s views, actions and plans.  The question is, “How do we go forward in this new reality?”.  A reality that shows a significant and sharp division.

There are going to be many different answers to this and we have seen some of them playing out already.  There are those who are name calling (continuing to do call names), protests (violent and peaceful and not my president), celebrations, fear, mockery and even the talk if moving to a different country.  I don’t believe that this type of response will make any difference.

For me, the answer begins with the following words, “He has shown ypu, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you?  To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God.”. “Love God and love your neighbor.”. These important words from Scripture are words that focus and guide our actions and words.

For me, no matter who is in the White House, the real work of caring for our neighbors, uplifting those who are down, loving as God has called us to love and providing where there is a need is done in the communities through out this nation and begins in the hearts, homes and lives of each person.

I don’t know what the future holds but through my faith, I want to work toward a better future for all.  Let’s role up our sleeves and continue the work of serving and caring for all.

Peace!

Leave a Reply

Categories

