Posted by: pastordarren | September 11, 2015

Remembering and Healing

This will probably be like many posts today, but still wanted to share.

As I begin the day today, I am remembering the events of that fateful morning 14 years ago.  I was late to the breakfast worship committee meeting (as usual) and had a tape on in my truck which means I did not hear about the attacks until later that morning.  Stunned, angry, hurt and shocked, I with most in the country watched as the events unfolded through out the day.  Praying for those in the towers, Pentagon, the planes and the first responders, we watched as first responders continued to go into those areas to rescue and help all they could.  Many at the cost of their own lives.

Later that afternoon, I attended a prayer service at another church.  One of the hymns we sang was “It is Well With My Soul”.  I sat there thinking it is NOT well with my soul and to this day, even knowing the story behind the hymn, I struggle with singing it.

Over the years, there has been many things that have come out of the events of that day, war, increased security, uncertainty, but there has been healing and rebuilding and remembering as well.

It is still not well with my soul.  I have come to know that none of the hate, violence, attacks, etc., whether in our country, our cities, and our houses and around the world should be well with our soul.  We must continually work toward healing, forgiveness, and loving our neighbor.  This is the call of God shown through Jesus and the scriptures.

Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.

Martin Luther King, Jr. once said, “Darkness can not drive out darkness; only light can do that.  Hate can not drive out hate; only love can do that.”  Let us bring healing as we remember as we love our neighbor, as unlovable as they may seem, and in doing so, push back the darkness in our world.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

Categories

