Posted by: pastordarren | October 31, 2014

Wonderful Fruit

I used to love to stop by road side fruit stands, get a huge, fresh pear, and enjoy it in the middle of a busy day.  The only reason I don’t any more is that we don’t live where we have access to stands with pears!  As I would finish one off, I was usually in the mood to go get another.  I was able to do this again, albeit with blueberries this summer because of my wife’s job at a blueberry farm and she even brought them home.  It is something about the wonderful fruit that draws me back again and again.

I was reminded of this enjoyment as I am preparing for the sermon this Sunday from Luke 6:43-45:

“No good tree bears bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit.  Each tree is recognized by its own fruit. People do not pick figs from thornbushes, or grapes from briers.  A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”

There is no way that I would have chosen a bad pear and the farmers would not have put one out because they would turn people away.  Jesus says here that it is our heart and what is there that will be seen in our words and actions.  If there is grace and love then that will be evident in what we do and say.  If there is fear, anger, unforgiveness, etc., then they will show themselves in our actions and words.

In the church, too often, we don’t let the transformative power of God make us different and create a clean heart in us.  We instead continue to produce questionable fruit that is made to look differently or excused in one way or another.  It is that change that our faith is supposed to bring, that will change the way we act and talk.

I wonder, what flows out of my heart through my words and actions?  Is it goodness that speaks of Grace and Love and draws people into God’s presence?  Or is it spoiledness the will turn them away and leave them hurting even more?

What flows from your heart?

Leave a Reply

Categories

