Posted by: pastordarren | January 8, 2011

Why?

I am saddened to hear about the shooting of Rep. Gabrielle Giffords and others in AZ this afternoon. Latest reports are that at least five were killed including a child and a federal judge.  I’m not against gun ownership (don’t own one though) but it seems to me that people are using guns and other forms of violence to settle disputes or strike out at someone who doesn’t believe the same way.  The man who allegedly did this is in custody and there are various reports as to his background and state of mind and I can’t speculate on that anyway.

My biggest concern is the use of guns and other forms of violence to settle issues and problems or to get revenge.  We see it all around us from TV shows and ads to games, music and movies, anywhere there is a problem, the portrayed way of dealing with it is usually violence.  I don’t know if there are people  who can’t distinguish between real life and movies or pretend, but it has been shown that when exposed to violent media, people lean more toward violent behavior.  Sometimes it is perceived as the only response; sometimes there is a following of example.  Now another example of violence agaist someone who, looks like held a different political view.  I don’t have an answer that will solve everything.  I am mourning the loss of those who died and praying for the wounded.  I am mourning the loss of a bit more of the normalcy that we feel that we have in our country.

I pray for peace, I pray for protection and healing, I pray for our country and our leaders, I pray for the peace of God in the hearts of all. . .

Responses

  1. Thank you very much for writing this. I am tired of the Republicans and Tea Partiers in Congress calling actions like these ‘isolated incidents’. It might have been isolated early on, but we can now clearly see the trend. Conservative hate rhetoric is ruining political discourse in our country, and those politicians need to be held responsible. I am ashamed at Sarah Palin and her cronies, and I would hope for an apology soon. There are no words to describe how angry I am right now.
    Thank you.
    Check me out at…
    http://southpawreport.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

