Posted by: pastordarren | October 28, 2010

Living in the Presence of the Lord

I admit it and for those who know me, know that I’m a Eric Clapton fan.  He can really make the guitar sing with the blues and rock and has had a wonderful career.  I’m a fan of almost all his music but there are some that just stand out for me.  One of those is “In the Presence of the Lord” originally written and recorded when Clapton was with Derek and the Dominos.  The history is a bit confusing and if you can clarify it for me, please do so.  Below you will find some of the lyrics and a link to a 2007 performance at his Crossroads Festival.  There are several different versions on YouTube, but I like the live version.

In the Presence of the Lord

I have finally found a way to live,
Just like I never could before.
I know that I don’t have much to give,
But I can open any door.

Everybody knows the secret,
Everybody knows the score.

Chorus:
I have finally found a way to live,
In the presence of the lord.

Click the link to see the live performance on YouTube, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=98XqT4kBWT4

You may not like this style of music but look at the chorus lines again.  To me this is a great way to say what Paul is talking about in Romans 8, especially verses 8-10 which is the text for our RENEW Service on Sunday.  Paul is saying that when we live under control of the Spirit of God, that we have life.

Living in the presence of the Lord can be difficult because there is so much to pull us away.  Living in the presence of the Lord means to be aware of God’s presence with us and around us all the time and to live accordingly.  Easy, No; what we are called to, Yes.  When we stumble, we have grace and forgiveness through Jesus.

Let us recognize and live in the presence of God each day.

Responses

  1. Actually, Darren, Clapton wrote and recorded this with “Blind Faith,” a year before Derek & the Dominos” Your message is spot on, even if your Classic Rock knowledge is suspect. Good to read your stuff.

    • You are right Chris. I think that the recording I was listening to at the time was Derek and the Dominos in concert. Should have checked my material closer. It is good to hear from you and hope you are doing well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

