Posted by: pastordarren | September 25, 2009

Our Treasures

Sunday’s text comes from Luke 12:13-21, the story that Jesus told about a man who had a lot and built barns to store it all.  Read the text below:

Then someone in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the family inheritance with me.”  But Jesus said to him, “Mister, who appointed me to be a judge or arbitrator over you people?”  Then he said to them, “Be careful to guard yourselves against every kind of greed, for a person’s life doesn’t consist of the amount of possessions he has.”  Then he told them a parable. He said, “The land of a certain rich man produced good crops.  So he began to think to himself, ‘What should I do, since I have no place to store my crops?’  Then he said, ‘This is what I’ll do. I’ll tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and I’ll store all my grain and goods in them.  Then I’ll say to my soul, “Soul, you’ve stored up plenty of good things for many years. Take it easy, eat, drink, and enjoy yourself.”‘  But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life will be demanded from you. Now who will get the things you’ve accumulated?’  That’s how it is with the person who stores up treasures for himself and isn’t rich toward God.”

This story has me thinking about our society and how rich we really are and how we use and / or store away what we have been given and earned.  There is a fine line between being greedy and being smart; a line between hoarding what we have been given, and using our blessings to bless others.  We have all been affected by the resession that we are currently in, many of those “barns” have fallen.  My question for you today is – “Where do you see barns in our world being built and what should our response  be as believers and as the church body to what we have been blessed with?

I look forward to your comments and input.

Responses

  1. Darren,

    Recently I thought the best picture of our excessive culture is food-eating contests. We watched the annual Hot dog eating contest this summer and all I could think about was how many people the 60 some hotdogs the winner ate would feed. If we have enough excess food that someone can eat that much for no reason except sport, we truly have an excessive culture.

    Not sure that answers your question, maybe the eat, drink and be merry part.

    Fara

  2. The huge mega-churches with several pastors, coffee bars, expensive media equipment, book stores, etc., etc. are like those barns full of possessions. How many people could benefit if the money spent on the elaborate buildings, media equip., etc. was used instead to help less fortunate people pay medical bills, buy food, provide housing, or even help students pay tuition and buy books in college. Instead of putting on a show on Sundays, put the money to use in the community!! Love you all, P


Leave a Reply

Categories

