Posted by: pastordarren | September 11, 2009

9/11

I remeber exactly where I was when I heard the news of the attacks, as I’m sure many of you can too.  I had just returned from a breakfast committee meeting and turned on the radio and heard the news.  As all of us, I was shocked, angry, hurt, saddened, worried, etc. I called my wife and had her turn on the news and then sat and watched the coverage in disbelief.

Later that afternoon, I attended a prayer service to pray for the nation and all who were affected by the events of the day. One of the hymns that we sang was “It is Well with My Soul”. As I listened to those around me sing, I began to feel that it is NOT well with my soul, the events of the day were not right and the hatred and anger that brought them about was not right and we should not be saying, “it is well”.

I will never forget the feelings of that day, but I can work to make the world a better place.  The events of 9/11 came about from anger and hatred and have fostered anger, hatred and distrust around the world today.  I refuse to give into those feelings.  It is not well with my soul and I will keep working and praying for a better world.

Join me in praying for peace today, a peace around the world that comes through our faith and then put that faith into action and go and work for peace in whatever situation you are in.  We will never forget and I hope to keep the memory of the people and the events alive by working for peace today.

Responses

  1. Thank you Darren for your words and the way to remember what this day was all about 8 years ago. People have said we have come along way since 9/11. I think the opposite in that today there is far more hatred in our country and in our world. More than ever we need to get back to the teachings of Christ especially the one on love. Have a great day Darren….Your friend Lonnie

  2. I agree with Lonnie. It seems as if we have slipped even further into hating one another. Hate breeds hate and can we honestly say that after the attacks of September 11, 2001, that we didn’t feel differently about our Middle Eastern brothers and sisters. I am not going to lie. I did. I looked at them with fear and loathing. It took me getting back to Christ to begin to see that all of these people were not to blame for the actions of a few. All Muslims are not radical extremists, but most of them are peaceful, kind, and loving people. Yes, they have a different belief system, but isn’t that why God gave us free will? We all have the choice. There are extremists in every religion and people who sometimes do horrible things to accomplish what they believe is good. We, as Christians all need to get back to Christ’s teachings and learn to combat the hatred and evil with love and kindness. Let us all take a moment to remember those lost on 9/11/01, and honor them by not letting their deaths be in vain.


Leave a Reply

Categories

