Posted by: pastordarren | July 30, 2009

General Assembly Post – Day 1

The first day of the general assembly was a good day.  Rev. Sharon Watkins opened the assembly with her state of the church address showing how over the last two years, we have been working on the four different yet connected areas of ministry:

  • Anti-Racism / Pro-Reconciliation
  • New Church Plants
  • Church Revitalization
  • Leadership Development

These four areas are where the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) are working to be “a movement for wholeness in a fragmented world.”  The presentation was good and the stories inspiring.

All that for another day.

I would like to tell you about someone I met on Wednesday.  I was walking from my hotel to the evening worship and ahead on the sidewalk was a homeless man asking for money by shaking a cup for passersby.  I, at first, was going to go a different direction but then changed my mind and it changed my whole day.  I had some change that I was going to put in the cup and continue on to the worship service, but as I put the coins in the cup, we started talking and I sat down on the side walk to talk to this man.

We only talked for 10-15 minutes but there were two things that will stick with me for a long time.  The first was some of the things that he said.  He kept repeating that he was worthless and a ‘nobody’.  He did not understand why God had ‘taken’ some of his friends who also lived on the street and has been waiting for an answer to that question.  The second thing that will stick with me is not what he said, but what others did not say or do.  Most of the people who walked by that busy street did not recognize him but walked by on the other side of the street.  Many of those were wearing green lanyards.

I tried to respond to Lee and tell him that he was ‘somebody’; he is a child of God.  I looked him in the eye and shared God’s love with him and treated him like he is a somebody, a person, a loved child of God; because he is.  We held hands and prayed together and I went on my way.  I wonder though, as great as worship was tonight, would I have been better served to stay with him on the side of the street and bring a little healing to a broken man?

I write this not to toot my own horn but to say that if we are to be a movement for wholeness, then we need to start with those in front of us who are broken, without relationships, and in need of healing.  Let us not forget the individuals in front of us as we are working toward wholeness.

Responses

  1. I am just now getting to read your blogs. This one was powerful and touched my heart so much. It made me realize just how blessed I am to call you friend…You are amazing! God Bless You! Your Friend in Christ

  2. Your thoughts are definitely a confirmation to somethings happening in the role of service GOD has placed me in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

