Posted by: pastordarren | May 26, 2009

Psalm 139

This past Sunday I offered a challenge to my congregation to pray the last two verses of Psalm 139 for their lives and for the church, and I offer it to you too.  This is in preparation for the celebration and remembering of the gift of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost.  The disciples and others gathered together for constant prayer following Jesus’ ascension and before the gift of the Holy Spirit.  We don’t know what their prayers were, but I can imagine they were prayers of allowing God to move in their hearts and preparing them to receive the Spirit.

“Search me O God and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  See if there is any offensive way in me.  And lead me in the way of everlasting.”

Four different areas of prayer that address four different areas of our lives and church – heart, mind, actions, future.  In praying these verses, don’t just repeat the words, but allow God to really touch these areas and if needed, to deal with certain things in your life.  In doing so, each one of us and your church can be drawn closer to God.

Will you take this challenge today with us?

Leave a Reply

Categories

