Posted by: pastordarren | February 25, 2009

Ash Wednesday Thoughts

As I was burning last years palm branches for tonight’s Ash Wednesday Service, I began to think about the significance of doing so. I don’t know if this is what the official idea is, but for me it is a good way to begin Lent.

The Palms from Palm Sunday are a reminder of the celebration and praise of that day, but a year later, they are dry and brittle because they are dead. As I watched them burn, felt the smoke in my face, and smelled the fire and smoke, I was reminded that simple praise and celebration easily turns to a dry and dead life if it is not nurtured and cared for daily. This dryness can lead to sin which is what the ashes remind us of on this day.

Ash Wednesday is the beginning of Lent, a time of reflection and prayer and turning our lives back to God and His grace made present in the incarnation of Jesus. May each of us take the time this Lenten season to remember the words of the psalmist, “Search me O God and know my heart, test me and know my anxious toughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way of everlasting.” This is our prayer for Lent. This is a time to make sure that our praise and worship is not dead but alive because it is cared for each day. Lent is a time of turning back to God and Ash Wednesday is the first step in that journey.

Will you take that journey with me this year?

Responses

  1. How is the journey going so far?


Leave a Reply

Categories

